Director of Spanish Agency for medicines and Medical Devices (AEMPS)

Inicio > La AEMPS > Estructura, departamentos y órganos de la AEMPS > Director of Spanish Agency for medicines and Medical Devices (AEMPS)
Fecha de publicación: 20 de enero de 2023

María Jesús Lamas Díaz

E-mail : sdaem@aemps.es
María Jesús Lamas Díaz - Directora de la Agencia Española de Medicamentos y Productos Sanitarios

María Jesús Lamas Díaz is director of the Spanish Agency for Medicines and Health Products since 2018 and, as such, she is responsible for its direction, management and coordination of actions. He is also a member of the coordinating group of the network of European drug agencies and of the Management Board of the European Medicines Agency (EMA). And it should be noted that he represents Spain on the Steering Board of the European Vaccine Strategy led by the European Commission.

PhD in Pharmacy from the University of Santiago de Compostela, she is a specialist in hospital pharmacy and is accredited as a clinical pharmacist in Oncology by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties (BPS) and the American Pharmaceutical Association (APhA).

Until she took over as director of the AEMPS, she directed the Pharmacy Service of the Santiago University Hospital Complex (CHUS), while also coordinating the Platforms and Methodology Area of the Santiago Health Research Institute (IDIS – ISCIII). In addition, she was Director of Research of the Spanish Society of Hospital Pharmacy (SEFH) from 2012 to 2016.

In her research role, she has led the Clinical Pharmacology Research Group of IDIS – ISCIII and has served as principal investigator in 12 projects, highlighting the one entitled Systems biology in the characterization of the response to biological drugs in the treatment of inflammatory bowel disease.

Coordinator and professor of the Master’s Degree in Pharmaceutical Oncology at the University of Valencia, she has been a professor of the Master’s Degree in Hereditary Metabolic Diseases at the Santiago de Compostela University.

Likewise, she is president of the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee of EOXI of Santiago de Compostela, member of the Subcommittee for Oncology Treatments of the Central Autonomous Commission of Pharmacy and Therapeutics, member of the Research Committee of IDIS – ISCIII, member of the Territorial Committee of Ethics and Research Santiago-Lugo, member of the EOXI Transplant Committee of Santiago de Compostela, and member of the CHUS Pharmacy Service Quality Commission.