







## Shaping a European innovation ecosystem: EU-Innovation network multi-stakeholder meeting

26<sup>th</sup> September 2023, Madrid Hotel Meliá Castilla

## **Objectives**

The European Innovation Network (EU-IN) and the Spanish Agency of Medicines and Medical Devices (AEMPS) are organising a multi-stakeholders meeting under the Spanish 2023 EU-Presidency to promote research and development of innovative medicines and related technologies & methodologies in the European Union.

The main objectives of the meeting are:

- o To **inform stakeholders** on EU-IN activities and available EU regulatory support to developers and to gather feedback on how to further optimise these support tools;
- To exchange knowledge, experience and good practices among stakeholders involved in medicines research and development and explore opportunities for collaboration:
- o To **collect inputs from multiple stakeholders**, in particular from academic innovators, to identify gaps in regulatory science and discuss options to address them;

The feedback gathered during this meeting will inform recommendations and follow-up actions with the aim to further **catalyse innovative medicines development** in the EU.









## **Agenda details**

08:00	Registration	
08:30	Joining and Technical Checks	
09:00	Welcome and Opening Speech	
	Silvia Calzón, Secretary of State for Health, ES María Lamas, Executive Director, AEMPS Emer Cooke, Executive Director, EMA	10'
09:15	Session 1: EU-IN in support of European Research	
	Chair/Co-chair: Laurence O'Dwyer (HPRA)/ Falk Ehmann (EMA)	5'
	EU-IN Network activities and available EU regulatory support	
	Speaker(s):  Falk Ehmann (EMA). European innovation ecosystem - EU Innovation Network activities  Yoana Nuevo-Ordóñez (AEMPS). AEMPS innovation Office Bettina Ziegele (PEI). Simultaneous National Scientific Advice (SNSA) Ana Zanoletty (EMA). Accelerating Clinical Trials in the EU (ACT-EU)	10' 10' 10' 10' 20'
	Discussion	
10:30	Coffee break	
11:00	Session 2: Promoting Academic-based clinical research and product development	
	Chair/Co-chair: Robert Klaus (AGES)/ Eleonora Agricola (AIFA)	5'
	Academia experiences on engaging with EMA and National Competent Authorities, the earlier the better	
	Speaker(s):  Viktoriia Starokozhko (CBG-MEB). Update on the recommendations from STARS  Damián García-Olmo (UAM). Alofisel case Gonzalo Calvo (Clinic Barcelona). Car T case Sean Russell (Telethon Foundation). Telethon Case.  Discussion	10' 10' 10' 10'
	Discussion	









12:15	Session 3: Academia and Regulators - The benefits of working together		
	Chair/Co-chair: Yoana Nuevo-Ordóñez (AEMPS)/ Ralf Herold (EMA)	5'	
	Sharing of expertise and opportunities for collaboration		
	Speaker(s):		
	Marta Puyol (Fundación científica Asociación Española Contra el Cáncer). Experience on regulatory pre grant Advice	10'	
	Momir Radulović (JAZMP) IncreaseNET - Capacity building with focus	10'	
	on Innovation  Maribel Rico-Salas (EMA). Regulatory Science Research Needs (RSRN)	10'	
	Juan Luque (CIBER). Bidirectional training regulators-Academia	10'	
	Discussion	20'	
13:30	Networking Lunch		
15:00	Session 4: Other stakeholders -The benefits of working together		
	Chair/Co-chair: Esa Heinonen (FIMEA)/Bettina Ziegele (PEI)	5'	
	Sharing of expertise and opportunities for collaboration		
	Speaker(s):  Julián Isla (Foundation 29). Collaboration with patients	10'	
	Denis Lacombe (EORTC). Collaboration with health professionals	10'	
	<b>Domingo Gargallo-Viola (ABAC Therapeutics S.L. Member of Beam Alliance Executive Board).</b> Collaboration with SME's.	10'	
	Padraic Ward (Roche Pharma Europe & International). Collaboration	10'	
	with innovators.		
	Discussion	20'	
16:10	Coffee break		
16:30	Session 5 – Looking towards the future		
	Chair/Co-chair: María Lamas (AEMPS)/Laurence O'Dwyer (HPRA)	5'	
	Speaker(s):	5	
	Sara Rafael Almeida (DG SANTÉ. Medical Products and Innovation) Innovation within new pharmaceutical legislation. Funding for public researchers. Best use of data	15'	
	Panel discussion:	45´	
	Falk Ehmann (EU-IN Co-Chair). EMA		
	<b>César Hernández (General Director NHS Portfolio and Pharmacy).</b> Ministry of Health		
	Javier García Castro (Research profesor. Cellular biotechnology unit).		
	Roberto Saldaña (Innovation Director). EUPATI-ES		
	Roisin Adams (Head at HTA Strategy National centre for Pharmacoeconomics). HTA		
	Juan Yermo. (General Director). Farmaindustria		









	Discussion	10'
17:45	Closing remarks	
	María Lamas, Executive Director, AEMPS. Wrap up	10'
18:00	End of the meeting	